Pledge to tackle plastic pollution

Has your MP taken the pledge to tackle plastic pollution?


Our recycling system is already overwhelmed by plastic waste. Now our waste is overwhelming other countries’ recycling systems too, causing serious harm to their citizens and environment. The UK exports more than two and a half Olympic swimming pools worth of plastic waste every day, where it risks being dumped and burned. 

By signing this pledge I agree to:

  1. A complete ban on all plastic waste exports by no later than 2025
  2. Legally binding targets to radically reduce our waste at source, including a target to cut the UK’s single use plastic by 50% by 2025
  3. Write to the Environment Secretary to press for urgent action to tackle the plastic waste crisis

This pledge has been signed by the following MPs

  1. Bell Ribeiro-Addy, Streatham, Labour 
  2. Angela Crawley, Lanark and Hamilton East, Scottish National Party
  3. Gavin Robinson, Belfast East, Democratic Unionist Party
  4. Órfhlaith Begley, West Tyrone, Sinn Fein
  5. Tim Farron, Westmorland and Lonsdale, Liberal Democrats
  6. Philip Davies, Shipley, Conservative
  7. Hywel Williams, Arfon, Plaid Cymru 
  8. Kenny MacAskill, East Lothian, Alba Party
  9. Allan Dorans, Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock, Scottish National Party
  10. Lisa Cameron, East Kilbride, Strathaven and Lesmahagow, Scottish National Party
  11. Liz Saville Roberts, Dwyfor Meirionnydd, Plaid Cymru 
  12. Wera Hobhouse, Bath, Liberal Democrats 
  13. Emma Lewell-Buck, South Shields, Labour
  14. Andrew Selous, South West Bedfordshire, Conservative
  15. Angus Brendan MacNeil, Na h-Eileanan an Iar, Scottish National Party
  16. Jon Trickett, Hemsworth, Labour 
  17. John Mcdonnell, Hayes and Harlington, Labour
  18. Jon Cruddas, Dagenham and Rainham, Labour
  19. Ben Lake, Ceredigion, Plaid Cymru
  20. John Baron, Basildon and Billericay, Conservative


What's next?